Date: June 4th, 2020- 10:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM CST, 12:00 PM CDT, 13:00 PM EST, 14:00 PM AST, 14:30 NSTkj

Presenter:

Jeff Sych

Registered Psychologist
CEO of the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation- Canada Inc.
Clinical Director of the Alberta Critical Incident Provincial Network

Description:

Emergency management personnel are exposed to large scale events of long duration and high intensity. Often the roles within the EOC require personnel to step out of their normal operational roles. Their roles place them at the front line of planning, organizing and implementing a response to events that rapidly change and have unpredictable outcomes.

While a certain amount of stress is normal, emergency management personnel are in a unique position of being impacted by the stress related to the event, organizational and operational stress, and by the likelihood that the events are impacting their own community and perhaps personally.

This presentation will address the aspects of stress that Emergency Management Personnel face, as well as provide pragmatic ways of increasing their resistance and resiliency to the effects of stress.

Video Link

Download : June 4 Town Hall