Date: April 21st, 2020 10:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM CST, 1:00 pm EST, 2:00 pm AST, 2:30 PM NST

The commitment of Public Safety Personnel (PSP) to serving and caring for Canadians is extraordinary. Their professionalism, skills, and personal values are the bedrock of the services that PSP provide. The current COVID-19 pandemic, however, has fundamentally changed and destabilized the service provision context. What does evidence from past pandemics and disasters teach us about the moral dilemmas and wicked problems that PSP face, and the moral injuries that can sometimes result? This presentation will focus on the current tough decisions, moral dilemmas, and wicked problems confronted by PSP working on the frontlines of the COVID crisis. Never has there been a more important time to discuss the potential impact of moral injury on the health and wellbeing of PSP. We will discuss ways to prepare for and gird oneself against the negative impact of such circumstances, and the importance of intentionally engaging in practices that enable PSP to not only cope amidst struggles, but thrive in the face of them.

Video Link

Download Poster: Webinar April 21, 2020