User Login

News & Events

August 23, 2020

Three Members of the CIPSRT Scientific Directorate named to the Royal Society of Canada

The Canadian Institute for Public Safety Research and Treatment (CIPSRT) is excited to announce Dr. Joy C. MacDermid, Associate Scientific Director, Dr. Rosemary Ricciardelli, Associate Scientific Director, and Dr. R. Nicholas Carleton, Scientific Director have been elected to the prestigious Royal Society of Canada.

On September 10, the Royal Society of Canada announced their class of 2019. Three members of the CIPSRT Scientific Directorate were among the scholars, artists, and scientists elected to the prestigious society. CIPSRT is proud of all our Scientific Directors.  We hope you will join us in celebrating this exceptional achievement.

Founded in 1883, the Royal Society of Canada comprises Academies of Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and the College of New Scholars. The Society’s mission is to recognise excellence in scholarship, research, and artistic activities, to advise governments and organisations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.  The CIPSRT Scientific Directorate has been working tirelessly in support of public safety personnel mental health and to have members recognised for their efforts is a great honour.

“I was shocked and rather surprised. It’s such an honour to be elected and recognised alongside some of the most inspiring scholars in the country.”- Rosemary Ricciardelli, Ph.D.  

CIPSRT Associate Scientific Director Dr. Joy C. MacDermid received the highest honour, which was election as a fellow to the Academy of Science (Life Sciences Division).  Dr. MacDermid was elected to a lifetime fellow position by her peers for her outstanding scholarly and scientific achievements. Dr. MacDermid was recognised for her work pioneering work developing patient-reported outcome measures, and promoting evidence-based surgery and rehabilitation.  In her work with CIPSRT, Dr. MacDermid provides expertise that assists in the creation of a knowledge translation strategy, and provides senior leadership to the scientific directorate on behalf of firefighters.

CIPSRT Associate Scientific Director Dr. Rosemary Ricciardelli, and CIPSRT Scientific Director, Dr. R. Nicholas Carleton, are new members to the Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. The College was established to recognize scholars, artists and scientists who, at an early stage in their career, have reached a high level of achievement in their fields.

Dr. Ricciardelli is a well-respected researcher and sociologist specializing in issues related to social health, corrections, and gender. More specifically, Dr. Ricciardelli specialises in evolving understandings of gender, vulnerabilities, risk, and experiences within the criminal justice system. In her work with CIPSRT, Dr. Ricciardelli provides sector-focused expertise and information related to correctional officers, staff, and police officers.

Dr. R. Nicholas Carleton is the CIPSRT Scientific Director.  Dr. Carleton is a psychologist and mental health researcher specializing in fear and trauma.  His research focuses on improving how we assess, treat, and proactively protect the mental health of public safety personnel, which he hopes will ultimate help to reduce the prevalence and impact of mental health injuries. In his work with CIPSRT, Dr. Carleton works to serve as a leader in support of diverse researchers working to improve mental health for all public safety personnel.

“I am honoured and humbled to be included as a member of the Royal Society of Canada. I look forward to learning from the tremendous expertise and experience of my colleagues and hope to one day earn a Fellowship with this distinguished scientific community.” – R. Nicholas Carleton, Ph.D.

Drs. MacDermid, Ricciardelli, and Carleton will celebrate their awards at an event in Ottawa, scheduled for November 2019, as part of the Royal Society of Canada Celebration of Excellence and Engagement.  Join us in thanking all of our Scientific Directorate for their efforts, and special congratulations to our three recipients.  CIPSRT is honoured to share in your work and is proud of your achievements.

Quick Facts

Dr. Joy C. MacDermid is a Professor in the Departments of Physical Therapy and Surgery at Western University.  Dr. MacDermid is the Dr. James Roth Chair in Musculoskeletal Measurement and Knowledge Translation; and a Canadian Institutes of Health Research Chair for Gender, Work and Health.


Dr. Rosemary Ricciardelli is a Professor of Sociology, the Coordinator for Criminology, and Co-Coordinator for Police Studies at Memorial University. In addition, Dr. Ricciardelli is an Associate Scientist, Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences; Affiliate Scientist, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, University of Toronto.


Dr. R. Nicholas Carleton is a Professor of Psychology at the University of Regina, a registered clinical psychologist, and Associate Director for the Anxiety and Stress Disorders Program.

Associated Links

Royal Society of Canada Media Release and Announcement, press HERE

For information on Dr. Joy C. MacDermid’s election, press HERE

For information on Dr. Rosemary Ricciardelli’s election, press HERE

For information on Dr. R. Nicholas Carleton’s election, press HERE

Contact US

As part of the National Research Consortium, CIPSRT serves as the Knowledge Exchange Hub for knowledge synthesis, translation, and exchange that relies upon the best contemporary research evidence supporting an overall mission to help current and former public safety personnel, their leaders, and their families to maintain and improve their mental health and well-being.  CIPSRT is a research institute located at the University of Regina.


Canadian Institute for Public Safety Research and Treatment

University of Regina

2 Research Drive

Regina, SK S4T 2P7


Media Contact:

Paul Dederick

Associate Director, Communications and Public Relations

University of Regina

Tel: 306-585-5493

Back to News & Events

User Login

Lost Password